Skip to content

Google Plus Public Profiles

July 19, 2012

Public profiles

 The purpose of Google Profiles is to enable you to manage your online identity. Today, nearly all Google Profiles are public. We believe that using Google Profiles to help people find and connect with you online is how the product is best used. Private profiles don’t allow this, so we have decided to require all profiles to be public.

If you have a private profile, you will see the following message at the top of your profile with options to make it public or delete it:

Your full name is not being displayed on your profile page. This option is no longer supported in Google profiles.

Display my full name publicly | Delete my profile

If you currently have a private profile but you do not wish to make your profile public, you can delete your profile. Or, you can simply do nothing. All private profiles will be deleted sometime after July 31, 2011.

Keep in mind that you can have a public profile without making it findable by search engines such as Google. Learn more about search visibility. While your profile is public, your full name is the only required information that will be displayed on your profile; you’ll be able to edit or remove any other information that you don’t want to share. Learn how to edit your profile.

Note: Deleting your profile doesn’t delete your Google Account or services such as Gmail. Learn more about Google Accounts and Google Profiles. If you delete your profile and later decide to have a public profile, you can create a new profile.
Image

From → Google Plus

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: